What I Missed Out in 2016

Even though we are into 2017, at least in my part of the world, I do have a nagging thought on my mind. The posts I should have written in 2016. Of course, it’s too late for regrets and rather a time for looking forward, but I know that I take, drag these unwritten posts with me. They are posts I still need to write.

Let me be clear that this post is not those unwritten posts, if that makes any sense at all. Rather it is a commitment, at some time in the near future, to write those posts and share those parts of me. They may end up with different titles than I use here, but the content will be there. My commitment to you as readers is also a commitment to myself to get those issues out in the open, and in doing so hopefully shed the weight that they currently are on my shoulders.

Reckless Compulsion (Another Addiction?)

I’ve Been in Denial About for Years (Anxiety)

Eventually, there will be links above to the written posts.

Both posts-to-be-written are deeply personal and perhaps that goes some way to explain why they have been on my mind, yet not written, for a few months now. It’s hard to put them on ‘paper’, yet I know I must do so in an attempt to take some of the weight off my shoulders. In an attempt to begin to heal. And that is all that my posts are ever about.

Keep reading…

 

Cate

5 thoughts on “What I Missed Out in 2016

  1. Looking forward to these, in an apprehensive kind of way. Even though I know it’s happening anyway, reading about the struggles people I care about face is a grim reminder.

    I probably have 25 blog posts taking up space in my head from the past year, but I doubt they’re ever going to see the light of day. Probably for the best in my case. It’s interesting. I not only don’t have it in me to write anymore, I’ve also lost my sense that writing could provide some catharsis. Then again, maybe I’ll find it again.

    1. I know that space. I had about 15 months of not having it in me. But it came back, perhaps not as it was originally but I do have some sense that it is helpful, if only because I can hold myself to what I still writing. Here’s my advice, for what it is worth… dump those 25 posts in your head. Press the ‘delete’ key and allow more pleasurable items to fill that space in your head.

      1. I’m glad it came back for you – and to hell with not being as it was originally. We learn and grow and our hearts and minds evolve, so our voice is bound to change. I can’t say it for everyone (certainly not in this country!) but I know you’re gaining wisdom and expect your writing will always reflect that.

        And speaking of wisdom, I’m going to take your advice!

I would love your feedback...

