Back To Music (Therapy)

Today I turned back to music, because I was losing my grip and I know (when I remember) that when that’s happening the best thing for me is to turn back to music, my favourite kind of therapy.

In many years past, back in what must have been another life, music was my world and playing in an orchestra or singing in a choir was a way to guarantee that feel good factor.  It was a long time ago, but music still works if I give it a chance.  And so today I pulled out a movie soundtrack from the 1980’s.  It’s one that others have told me they find depressing, but for me it’s the opposite.  It lifts my spirits every time… and gives me some peace.  I don’t imagine that you’ll click on it, and that’s ok.  The music is for me, and if anyone else gets something from it, then that is a bonus.

It has been a really hard week, and while many times, I have sat down to write, the part of me that withdraws when I’m struggling pulled me back from writing.  I realise at the other end of the week that while friends tell me to reach out and ask for help, I simply don’t know how.  Does that sound crazy?

Logically I know it’s three words “I need help” but actually those words are so hard to say, especially when you’re used to being independent.  I’ve attempted it in different places a number of times but have come away silenced by my fears and insecurities.  I need to be very clear that I silenced myself, rather than anyone doing or saying anything to silence me.

For a number of reasons, right now I am struggling to know who to trust, even to know who is real.  I’ve experienced the good, the bad and the ugly lately, and while the good still outweighs the rest, the worst of it colours my picture of the world and leaves me scared, even paranoid of who is really there for me.

Don’t get me wrong.  I have some wonderful friends who have done their best to be here for me, but it’s me that keeps pushing them away because I simply don’t know who, if anyone, is trustworthy now.

I want to trust people again.  I want to know that people are good.  I want to believe that I’m not alone.  I need to know that the world is a good place, and that the good and pure-hearted will win out against the bad and the ugly.

This week I have been rapidly running out of hope.  That’s right, I’ve been running out of hope.  It’s been hard to see the point anymore.  Yesterday a dear friend offered to hold onto my hope for me, and that is exactly what I needed.  We agreed to hold onto hope for each other, and somehow that seems so much easier than doing it alone.  I am very lucky to have her gift.

So I keep going.  The overwhelming urge is to run to under  the covers of my bed.  There it feels safe.  There it feels that the bad and the ugly can’t get to me there.  There I have no need for the paranoia and the anxiety.  There is peace.  I know I can’t stay there 24/7 but just sometimes it’s the best place to be.

“There is a saying in Tibetan, ‘Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.’  No matter what sort of difficulties, how painful experience is, if we lose our hope, that’s our real disaster.” 

― Dalai Lama XIV

12 thoughts on “Back To Music (Therapy)

  1. silverscreendreamer

    It’s not easy, but the fact that you’re both holding onto hope for one another means that hope is still there! xx You can do this, I know you can.

  2. The music is gorgeous. I’m just listening to it for the second time! A piece that uplifts and comforts me is Henryk Gorecki symphony No3 and Faure requiem. Most people think they’re depressing, I feel like they are soul cleansing. I don’t listen to music often because, if I’m down, as soon as the music stops, I feel the full force of the depression again. I know, it’s as weird as it sounds!

    Reaching out for help is not something I can do either and, until now, haven’t thought why. Yesterday someone commented on a post I’d just written and said perhaps the reason I cannot reach out is because, when I reached out as a child, no one helped. I know you’re making it clear this is not the same for you. However, I wonder if it has something to do with not valuing ourselves enough to feel deserving of that help…I don’t know, just thinking out loud here.

    That gorgeous music has now stopped and the silence is suffocating. Cate, I do hope next week feels different for you.

  3. Thanks Cat. The full force of the depression when the music stops is not weird to me. It makes total sense. As for reaching out as a child, actually some of that actually does make sense to me too. I had two very different parents. One would have responded to me but the other wouldn’t have. I still struggle with that now. Something for me to think about. Meanwhile try some more music and I hope your week feels different and more peaceful too.
    PS. I’m off to hunt out that music you suggested. Thanks.

    1. I loved it. Thanks for the link or it would have taken me ages to get around to hunting it out. I’ve decided to take a break on my blog. I blogged about it earlier. Too much stress in life right now, but I’ll be back. I just need to give myself some space.

  4. Pingback: Knowing What Is Right For Me | Infinite Sadness... or hope?

  5. Pingback: Building Community by Featuring Followers V | A Way With Words

I would love your feedback...

