Blocked

I know from my reading of other blogs, that many bloggers at times, sit at their screens desperately waiting for inspiration of what to write about that day.  I don’t do that.  I don’t even actually get as far as sitting at my screen unless I have something specific on my mind that I want to share with you.  Any less than that, and I think that I am being unfair on you, my readers.  But that’s me, sometimes a little different.

Anyway I haven’t been sitting at my screen, and it hasn’t been because I have nothing to say.  Actually if you looked at my ‘drafts’ folder you would see that I have lots of things I want to say.  Getting the ideas is not the problem.  They are flowing thick and fast.  My problem is that I am having great trouble getting from the idea, through to having a presentable post for you.

I guess this is my version of writer’s block.  Probably if we could all meet for coffee (and tea, for those of that persuasion) I could tell you what I’ve been thinking.  But I just can’t get it onto the screen right now.

Other things in my life suggest to me that I am perhaps a little depressed right now.  It’s not crisis material, just time to take care of myself for a bit.  So if I’m not posting at what once was my regularity, then don’t worry, I will be back soon.

“If you get stuck, get away from your desk. Take a walk, take a bath, go to sleep, make a pie, draw, listen to ­music, meditate, exercise; whatever you do, don’t just stick there scowling at the problem. But don’t make telephone calls or go to a party; if you do, other people’s words will pour in where your lost words should be. Open a gap for them, create a space. Be patient.” 

― Hilary Mantel

14 thoughts on “Blocked

  1. Take the time you need and allow your head to clear. I regularly take time out away from writing and it is time well spent because I am so much more re-energised afterwards and I find it easier to get back to the writing.
    Take care. xo

  2. I am very similar – I don’t sit waiting for inspiration; my fingers on the keyboard and off I go. However, recently, I have been struggling with writing everything I want to say coherently. There seems to be loads to say but not enough words to cover the emotion. I think waiting for that inspiration might create the writer’s block

    PS A portion of pie for me, please!

  3. This may sound crazy, but for the past 6 months I’ve been spending as much as 12-16 hours a day reading and writing on the blogosphere. I know for my long-term spiritual and physical health I have to balance this with such things as quiet meditation and aerobic exercise. So, I’m taking a retreat to my uncle’s beach condo on the Gulf Coast of Florida and I’m going to work out a schedule where I’m off-line at least 6-8 of my waking hours each day.

    It feels great to have made such progress in my writing, but I have to remember it is a marathon, not a sprint.

    Thanks for the thoughtful post.

    1. None of that sounds crazy to me Tony. The marathon not a sprint is an excellent analogy, one which I need to remind myself often. I hope you find your retreat worthwhile.

  4. Pingback: Anyone Up For A Game Of Truth And Dare? | Infinite Sadness... or hope?

  5. Pingback: No Tears | Infinite Sadness... or hope?

I would love your feedback...

