You Are My Sunshine

It makes my day when I receive a nomination for an award.  It’s even better when I discover it comes from another kiwi blog.  I have only been following this blog for a short time, and shamefully hadn’t even  realised that it is written by a fellow kiwi.  I love the fact that there is another kiwi, passionate as I am, about mental health… and is writing about it.

D.J. Halswell from A Mid-Life Adventure has nominated me for the Sunshine Award.

Here are the Sunshine Award’s simple rules:

  • Post the Sunshine Award logo
  • Then nominate 10 fellow bloggers you feel are worthy of this award
  • Announce their nomination on their blog
  • Plus, link a ping-back to the nominator’s blog

Questions for all nominees:

Favourite colour?Green… any green.

Favourite animal? I don’t have my own pet at present but my canine nephew Duncan is a favourite as are his feline siblings Sally and Harry. My beagle friend, Poppy is also a firm favourite even though she is on the other side of the planet.

Oh, were we talking favourite kind of animal?  If we were, then it’s a bear.  Unfortunately bears have never got as far as New Zealand.

Favourite number?  I don’t do numbers.  Any number is just fine with me.

Favourite non-alcoholic drink?Freshly squeezed orange juice (with bits, pulp or whatever you like to call it).

Favourite alcoholic drink?I don’t drink a lot these days, but when I do it is dry white wine.

Facebook or Twitter? 

  • Twitter: @CateReddell   I admit I don’t do much on Twitter, but I’m there…
  • Facebook: Infinite Sadness or what?  I’m currently debating how much longer I’m staying there.  My purpose for starting a page was to spread the word on my blog, and that just isn’t really happening due to Facebook’s reluctance to share posts (at no cost).

My Passions?Writing, reading, spending time with my two-year old niece and her teenage brothers,  life where judgement of others does not have a place.  I’m also passionate in my dislike of reality television.  I simply don’t get what is so entertaining.  Why can’t we have real, quality television instead?  Or better still, why not just turn it off?

Giving or Receiving Gifts? Both are rewarding!  Receiving gifts can be hard sometimes because I find myself wondering about the motives behind the gift.  But I love giving gifts, especially those which are for no other reason than because I could.

And my 10 nominees are…

Firstly let me acknowledge that there are a lot of bloggers who don’t want to accept awards, for a variety of reasons.  If you are one of those, and I have nominated you, please accept my apologies and don’t feel under any pressure to participate in this award.  Just know that I think your blog is great… and then carry on with your day.

With that said, my nominations ( in no order) are:

Claudia at Summer Solstice Musings

Jayne and Chas at THE SUNRISE GOAL

Jennifer at Chopping Potatoes

PTSD And Beyond (particularly for her post We Are Not All the Same)

Sid at Dad Knows

Natalya and Anya from Finding Health After Illness

Kina at Human In Recovery

Come November

A Wilderness Love Story

And yes, the perfectionists will notice that are nine blogs listed when I was meant to nominate 10.  Just sit back and breathe for a moment.  It will feel okay soon.  It’s always good to be able to just sit with imperfect things (a shortened list too)and break a few rules. 🙂

And to finish, just because I can…

“I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.” 

― Robert A. Heinlein

8 thoughts on “You Are My Sunshine

  1. Thank you, Cate! I know some of your other blogging friends up there, and have to say I’m pretty jazzed to be mentioned alongside them – one in particular. And I look forward to checking out the others. Also, I’m reminded I have a question or two for you about your recent half-way-round-the-world trip. Lacking another non-WordPress way to contact you, I’m sending a twitter DM…

    1. I like introducing bloggers to bloggers. And I have replied to you on Facebook (I can never keep myself short enough for Twitter). Let me know what else I can tell you.

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Award, thanks chandanimane! | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  3. Pingback: Three Liebs to the Sun | Chopping Potatoes

  4. Pingback: A Twofer for Little Moi :-) Word Press Family Member (In need of washing) Plus The Sunshine Award – | SERENDIPITY

I would love your feedback...

