Maybe I’m Not A Real Woman

English: Red Pinterest logo

Sometimes I just have to admit it. While there is a lot about me that indicates I might be a woman, there is also much which suggests that I’m not. Pinterest is just one of those things. Pinterest bores me senseless.  There.  Said it.

Some months back I decided that in order to spread the word of this blog, that maybe I should follow the masses and sign up on Pinterest. It would be one more place I could share my posts, in the hope that it would increase my readership. And I thought that maybe I might find something there that interested me. Wrong… on both counts.

I’ve never once had someone come to my blog from Pinterest, and while what I’ve seen all looks very pretty and nice (BTW, those words just don’t do it for me), I have simply struggled to see the point.  For me, it’s up there with reading Fifty Shades of Grey.  Certainly the two are very different, but what is the point of either?  In my mind, a complete waste of my time.

So I am told, Pinterest is a women’s thing.  Hmm.  Actually I am sure there are plenty of men on there too, but if it is a women’s thing, then I am obviously not a real woman.  Is something lacking from my genetic makeup?   Clearly, yes.  I simply just don’t see the point.

Pinterest tells me it is “a tool for collecting and organizing things you love“.  Surely, if anything, it is a tool for collecting and organising images of things you love.  It seems a little like collecting postcards from yesteryear, of places you dream of travelling.  Personally I’d rather collect stamps on my passport and actually see the places for myself.  What’s more, I also found it more interesting to read what was written on postcards, than simply the picture of a far off place.

Yesterday in my in-box was the weekly email from Pinterest telling me the ‘things that I love’… apparently.  I think they’re pushing it if they think they can tell what I love from my participation on the site.  Apparently, I will love:

Red lentil and coconut soup    (I hate lentils!)

“bows on the back of a t-shirt. this is adorable …” (that would look ridiculous on me!)

The New York Times. 36 Hours. 150 Weekends in the US and Canada   (ah, wrong countries!)

“bought my sister one of these in university, she’s …”   (I don’t have a sister!)

Marilyn + puppy   (is SO not me!)

Iceland   (looks the most interesting of the lot but still not something I want to ‘collect’!)

It’s all marginally better than the random pictures of mansions, room layouts, recipes, makeup, gardens, clothes, hair styles…   need I go on?  All of this is so not me.  And even if it was, why would I waste my time ‘collecting’ images of it all instead of making it all reality?  It’s really the ‘flicking through glossy magazines’ for the 21st century.  I was never into that last century, so it just makes no sense and says ‘complete waste of time’ to me.

All that said, I know many people (particularly women) who love Pinterest, and if you are one of those, I am happy for you.  You go on ‘collecting’ all these ‘wonderful’ things.  Enjoy, have fun with your collections.  Maybe I’m just ‘man’ enough (now there’s a joke) to say I don’t need these things.  There is enough on the internet without living with what I see as the fantasy of Pinterest.

Oh, and I can’t for the life of me see why people want to post pictures of what they cooked for dinner either.  Am I meant to be interested in that too?  I’m not.

“I’m tough, I’m ambitious, and I know exactly what I want. If that makes me a bitch, okay.” 

―    Madonna

“Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.” 

―    Robert A. Heinlein

20 thoughts on “Maybe I’m Not A Real Woman

  1. I created an account for Canvas back in January. I we have three boards, and the only one I’ve actually done anything with ongoing is Blog For Mental Health.

    In all honesty, I have no idea (still) what I’m meant to be doing with it. And I caught on to fb and Twitter pretty fast. Truthfully, I think it’s way too much visual overload for me, and also, like you, I just don’t care.

    And I absolutely am a real woman. 😉

      1. I don’t see why not. Anything anyone has “re-pinned” will remain on their board, but other than that, I imagine you could make it all disappear.

        I mean, it isn’t facebook, for heaven’s sake! 😉

  2. I have not even been on the pinterest website. I have heard of it and it just does not seem like something I would be interested in. I feel the same way, I do not want a picture, I want the object and if I cannot afford it or get it, why have the picture of it.

  3. I don’t even have a pinterest, I just see my friends’ ones through facebook and it looks dreadfully dull. I even wrote ‘boring’ in a boring way just then.
    It seems pointlessly time consuming.

  4. I’ve never gotten a referral from pinterest either. It’s visually cool but I think people use it mainly to upload their ego. There’s so much stuff to choose from these days, me thinks pinterest has a fight on their hands. I have an account; I don’t use it. Who does?

  5. I have gotten referrals from pinterest. I think it is great, I appreciate your words on it though. I am not a collector of things I want/need. I am an avid DIYer and I love to try new recipes for my family.

    I have travelled all around the world, so I have a lot of real life stamps in my passport. Using pinterest doesn’t make me any less real, I have got a whole lotta real going on here. I certainly don’t live in a fantasy world. I am also no girly girl, I spend most of my time out in the garage with my favorite power tools 🙂

    I also feel as though pinterest it is categorized way better than the web. I go on there and search for something like I do on yahoo. And it is far less time consuming and much more to the point. All I type in is chicken meatballs and there it is, I don’t need to waste time going through a bunch of recipe sites.

    But like I said I totally respect where you are coming from and not everything is for everyone! Thank goodness for that, being all the same would be pretty creepy. I found your blog because I am currently writing a post about pinterest myself 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    1. I’m happy for you that you got referrals from Pinterest. That’s great because it tells me it works. I agree with you that it is a good thing that we are all different. I can see from your perspective how Pinterest might be more useful than it has ever been for me. I suspect actually, that I am just an odd one out, and that is ok with me. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment.

I would love your feedback...

