Belated Acknowledgments And Thanks

I have been very slow to acknowledge receipt of some wonderful awards from some awesome bloggers.  So before I go any further I need to say to those bloggers that I very much appreciate their recognition of my blog, and that my slowness to post about their awards is no reflection on how I feel.  Actually I am quite overwhelmed by the recognition.  So thank you.  Now let me tell you about them, in the order I received them.

Very Inspiring Blogger Award

veryinspiringblogaward

Zen Lady  from Reflections on Life Thus Far nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award (I admit this was quite a while back).  I really like what she has to say on her blog so am honoured to receive her nomination.  Thank you.

Very Inspiring Blogger Award Rules

1.  Display the award logo on your blog.       

2.  Link back to the person who nominated you.     

3.  State 7 things about yourself.      √   (see below)

4.  Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.      √   (see below)

5.  Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.    

7 things about me

(apologies if I have told you these before)

1.  I’ll eat any chocolate, but prefer dark.  BUt I hate melted chocolate.  The texture is just all wrong for me.

2.  My first LP (it was in the 1970’s) was The Best of Abba.

3.  I failed French at school.

4.  My favourite paper at university was a Sociology course on writing life histories.  So far I’ve only done one and a half life histories.  The half is my father’s life history and is still waiting to be finished.

5.  The only pets I had as a child were two guinea pigs (called Patch and Badger).  A few weeks after I got them some teenagers from the church next door let them out of their cage and Patch and Badger were never seen again.  My parents refused me having any more pets.

6.  I hate brussel sprouts.

7.  I’m scared of Doctor Who.  I have been as long as I can remember that music.

Nominations for Very Inspiring Blogs

(in no particular order)

Miss Mental Health’s Rant Space 

dailylifewithfibromyalgia

Just Another Canadian Gurl

Being a Beautiful Mess

Mused

And yes you’re right.  That’s not 15.  But 15?

The Brilliant Blog Award

The next award that came my way is the The Brilliant Blog Award from Lulu of Sunny With a Chance Of Armageddon.  I have to admit that I was always an average student at school.  Brilliant was not a word any teacher would have used to describe me.  I did manage a couple of A+’s in my first year at university but still ‘brilliant’ wasn’t exactly me.  So for Lulu to include me in her inaugural presentation of this award put a huge smile on my face.  So thank you Lulu.  It is very much appreciated.

Da Rules

  1. Write an acceptance speech, linking back to the person who gave it to you.   
  2. Write 7 things you believe in.      √ (coming up shortly)
  3. Give the award to as many brilliant blogs as you would like to share the love.     √ (below)

7 things I believe in

The right of all people to be treated equally regardless of:

age

gender

ethnicity

sexual orientation

beliefs

class

health

religion

And yes, that is seven.  It maybe not be exactly what Lulu meant but I suspect she’ll let me off.

Nominations for Brilliant Blogs

(still in no particular order)

Empathy 2012: wake up – change yourself – change the world

…But She’s Crazy

Sweet As NZ Girl

Rebel Youth NZ

myspokenheart

Voices of Glass

one-lovely-blog-award12

Zen Lady Meditating from  Reflections on Life Thus Far has been very generous in also nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award.  Big smiles.  Thank you so much.  May I be thought of as a lovely blog for a long time to come.

The rules are:

  • Display the award logo on your blog    
  • Link back to the person who nominated you    
  • State seven things about yourself      √   (I’m cheating.  See above)
  • Nominate fifteen other bloggers for this award and link to them        √   (coming up)
  • Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements       √

Nominations:

(in no particular order)

The Mirth of Despair

Pride in Madness

I Love Being Hypomanic

bipolarandbreastless

Summer Solstice Musings

NB. Again you’ll note that I can’t count to 15, but I did say above that I was only an average student.

Sunshine Award

sunshine-award

Carolyn Hughes of The Hurt Healer has kindly awarded  me the Sunshine Award.  Carolyn’s blog is one of my favourites simply because I feel like I’ve been sitting in the warm sun when I have read her post.  They make me feel good.  So it is indeed a great honour to receive this award from her.  Thanks Carolyn.

This award is given and passed on to bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.’

The rules are:

  • Acknowledge the person who gave this award in a blog post.     
  • Do the Q&A below.      √   (see below)
  • Pass on the award to 10 deserving and inspiring bloggers, inform them and link to their blogs.  

Here’s the prescribed questions.  I think I have answered these before but it was a while ago so forgive me if I repeat myself.

1.Who is your favourite philosopher?            

Calvin & Hobbes

2. What is your favourite number?                  

I don’t have one.  Why should one number be better than another?

3. What is your favourite animal?      (you’ll note I can’t count again)

1.  Bears
2.  Elephants

4. What is your favourite time of day?       

Early mornings (when I can make it)

5. What are your Facebook and Twitter accounts?           

Facebook:    Infinite Sadness… or what?

Twitter:     #CateReddell

6. What is your favourite holiday?       

Canadian road trip 1990

7. What is your favourite physical activity?   

It makes me tired thinking about it.   Right now all I do is walk, usually to the car.

8. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?         (and again)

1.  Coffee (strong and never instant)       

2. Freshly squeezed orange juice                                   

9. What is your passion?    

Check out  The Passions Profile Challenge

10. What is your favourite flower?  

Daisies (I think that goes without saying, but I love pretty much all flowers).

 Nominations for Sunshine Blogs

aliceatwonderland

jumpingonclouds

Canadian Hiking Photography

Crazy In The Coconut

Sparkly Blue Butterfly Magical Fairy Dust Sprinkles Of Love

Human In Recovery

Reality Blog Award

reality-award1

The last award I need to acknowledge is the Reality Blog Award, given to me by Kevin from Voices of Glass.  Being real is something that is important to me.  To me it can be a fine line between too much and too little.  I hope I manage to balance that line and I very much appreciate Kevin’s acknowledgement that he sees my blog as rea.  Thanks Kevin.

The rules for this award are:

  • Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you      
  • Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back to them        
  • Answer the 5 questions presented        √ (coming right up)
  • Nominate up to 20 blogs for the award and notify them on their blogs      
  • Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere         

The Questions (and Answers)

1.   If you could change one thing what would you change? 

Peace not hate  (I say hate rather than war because I believe that hate causes war)

2.   If you could repeat an age, what would it be?

I’d like to be a pre-schooler again because I’d like that little girl to learn that she matters.  I want someone to say to her “You is Kind, You is Smart, You is Important”.  Not just once, but over and over again until she believed it.

3.   What one thing really scares you?

Fire.  Even the flame of a match scares me.  The fear comes from witnessing an extremely traumatic event a long time ago.  The trauma might be dealt with but the fear remains.

4.  What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it?

I’ve got a couple of very special people who I need to meet in person.  And yes, one day it will happen.  I don’t know how, but that’s not important.  What is important is that it will happen.

5.  If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be?

This is a really hard one that I have had to put off posting this until I sorted this out.  So many options, but only one choice.  I think I’m going to have to pass.  I know that’s terribly slack but…

Nominations for Real Blogs

behindthemaskofabuse

Soul Destruction – London Call Girl Diary & Book

Come November

Reflections on Life Thus Far

fibrofella

Tracie Louise Photography

And finally I have one more award to tell you about that I just got yesterday.  But as this is already so long, I’ll hold off and tell you about it soon.  Thanks for bearing with me. 🙂

“The applause was so loud and insistent that I had to respond with several encores. I was numb with happiness, when it was over, I knew that this alone must be my life and my world.” 

―    Leni Riefenstahl

29 thoughts on “Belated Acknowledgments And Thanks

  1. WOW!! What a lot of wonderful awards!! What amazing things that says of your blog, of your writing!! Congratulations, Cate!!

    Again, I thank you for passing one on to my blog!! It was extremely kind of you to think of me and very generous of you to give it to my blog!!

  2. John Richardson

    Congratulations! All the awards are well deserved and I’m very glad those follks that nominated you recoginized your talent and your contribution to mental health and to humanity in general. Self-confidence is a major stumbling block for many of us and until we’re told, in some instances over and over, that we’re good and that we’re worthy we just don’t believe it. Believe Cate, believe! You have a wonderful blog and all of the experiences that you’ve survived that hurt and challenged you have made you not only stronger but given you a perspective that allows you to lead and teach so many others. God Bless!

  3. Pingback: Time to give thanks « Summer Solstice Musings

  4. Pingback: A Brilliant Blog Award – Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou! « Voices of Glass

  5. Bourbon

    Wow Cate so many awards! And so well deserved 😀 Go you. Always nice to know you make such a great contribution with your writings. Thank you for the nomination to my blog too! xx

  6. Pingback: A Lovely Award From Cate « bipolarandbreastless

I would love your feedback...

