Awards Night

Today I have had the lovely pleasure of getting two more Awards.  It always makes my day to know that readers appreciate what I write.  It’s not just the time that I spend researching and writing, but more the amount of emotional energy I pour into each post.  It means a lot to know that people appreciate and want to acknowledge that in their support of my blog.

Firstly, my friend Kat, from over the ditch (Australia) who’s great blog is tryingtoescapethedarkness, has nominated me for One Lovely Blog Award.  Thanks Kat. 🙂

Here are the rules for this Award:

1.  Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.

2.  List seven random things about yourself.

3.  Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.

Seven random things about me:

(I’ll try not to repeat myself from other times)

1.   I don’t do computer games.  Aside from the fact that they bore me senseless, I just don’t have the time.

2.  I love oranges but hate peeling them.  Does anyone want to volunteer?

3.  I played (field) hockey (badly) at school.

4.   I love New Zealand music (and I promise I am not the slightest bit biased).  Here’s a sample from one of my fav’s

5.   I’m hopeless at languages.  I failed French at school.  I avoided Maori language papers  (although did plenty of cultural papers) right through university even though theoretically I should have done it in order to get my degree.  I can manage English most days.

6.   I love sushi

7.   I love it when special people draw/paint pictures for me.  My new Gravatar ( to the right of the screen) is one Frank very kindly drew for me recently, and I love it.   And this one below, I received from L (my 22 month old niece).  She did it for my birthday, a few weeks ago.  She wasn’t too forthcoming about what she had painted, but she was pretty tired at the time she gave it to me.  So what can you see in this?  I love it.

Nominations:

I have recently nominated people for this Award, having received it  from another blogger.  So for now, I’m going to sit tight.

***

The second award I received today is also a lovely gesture from my good blogging friend Kevin at Voice of Glass.  He has created a new award, The Compassionate Communicator Award, and I am honoured to be among the inaugural awardees.  The award is “to recognize and reward those who blog for the benefit of others as well as themselves.”

I think this award means so much to me because I believe that compassion is the key to life.  Maybe that sounds a little glib but think of the gains there are when someone offers us compassion.  Think how different our world would be if we all exercised compassion daily.  If I am able to offer compassion, and to communicate it effectively in my blog, then I am very happy.  So thank you Kevin.

The award is given to a specific blog post, and Kevin has given it for my post Deceived.  It took me a long time to get up the guts I needed to write that post.  The background to it was very hurtful for a lot of people, including me, and it took time to get to the point of being able to talk about it.  Kevin kindly wrote this about it:

“Cate’s blog is one which offers a great deal of variety and inspiration.  This particular blog post inspires me because it stands in the face of adversity and says, “I am still going!”  Is it adversity of the physical or mental health kind?  No not directly (although certainly it is an aspect of it) but one which we all face.  Trust, deception, and demoralization.  And yet despite that there is defiance and the encouragement to go on regardless.”

The guidelines for this award are:

1.  That in awarding it to a blogger you simply link it to one of their blog posts which you feel has personally benefited you in some way.

2.  You give a brief explanation of why you feel it benefited you

3.  On accepting the award you link back to and thank the person who awarded it to you.

So with that in mind, I would like to award The Compassionate Communicator Award to the following people:

1.  Carolyn Hughes at The Hurt Healer for her wonderful post The Gift of True Love.

You know how sometimes there seems to be perfect timing in when you get to read a post?  Well this one was perfect timing for me.  If was such a wonderful story but also an excellent reminder of the need to love myself, as well as those close to me.  Carolyn’s use of the following quote spoke perfectly to me along with her own great words.  Thanks Carolyn.

“The ultimate lesson all of us have to learn is unconditional love, which
includes not only others but ourselves as well.”
~ Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

2.  Come November for her amazing post The Story of Song Boy and Flower Girl.

This wonderful post, a combination of art and words, just put the biggest smile on my face.  When I commented at the time I read it, I said it was the most awesome post I had read for a long time.  And it was.  It touched my heart, and reminded me what matters.  It definitely benefitted me and I know it was of benefit to others.  Thank you.

3.  Dan at dan4kent for his great post TEMPORARY POOP

As seems to be often with Dan’s posts this one also came at the perfect time for me.  It was an excellent reminder of the need for not only compassion for myself but also recognising the needs of others.  That’s one thing I love about Dan’s posts, there are always several different messages that I get.  Regularly there is something in it for me to learn about myself, but also a great knack of pointing the reader towards reaching out to others.  A big kiwi thank you, Dan.

***

Those are all the awards for now, but thanks to Kevin for his great idea of this new award, I plan to make use of it again.  To those I have listed above, thank you so much for these and all of your wonderful posts.  Feel free to pass this award onto those you wish to recognise in this way.

19 thoughts on “Awards Night

  1. Congratulations on your awards – totally well deserved for your wonderful blog. And thank you so much for nominating me for the Compassionate Communicator award! Will be happy to link back to you in my next post. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Belated Blog Awards Ceremony | Sunny With a Chance Of Armageddon

    1. Hi Jo, Thanks for finding me on what is becoming one of my favourite blogs. His photos are amazing. I’ll remember to keep the Dave Dobbyn coming. I wonder if he would do a guest post for me??? Now I’m just falling myself. Welcome to my blog anyway. 🙂

      1. I haven’t spit watermelon seeds since I was a kid it seems. Progress isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Why else would you eat a watermelon? It’s too far for me to peel your oranges as much as I would love to, I suggest you buy orange juice 🙂

I would love your feedback...

