I Don’t Do Grey, Not Even Fifty Shades

Fifty Shades of Grey
Image credit: flickr.com

I’m not sure why anyone,especially E L James, would expect someone who has extreme aversion to the colour grey to read her trilogy Fifty Shades of Grey.  I don’t do grey.  I’d like to, although let me be clear, I have no desire to ‘do grey’ it in this manner.  People with Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) are well-known for their black and white thinking.  I am no different.  Much as I try, I so often find myself seeing only black or white.

You have to agree that it would a bit of a joke for a ‘no shades of grey’ person like me to enjoy, or rave over this book.  Actually I am completely black and white on it.  Yet again, there is no grey because this is rubbish.  Okay to be honest I only read 100 pages of the first book.  By that time I was nauseated and decided there were plenty more books that I’d rather spend my time on.

I started to read it out of pure curiosity.  In a country where selling books is pretty hard, this book had completely sold out.  All I can say is that it was a complete waste of money.

Are relationships really about how character Christian Grey puts them across?  What’s more are women really just play things?  Actually I hated the way women were portrayed in the 100 pages I read.  And had I carried on I am sure I would have eventually hated every man, as well as hating myself.

I am so much more than that.  I will always be so much more than that, and my lasting regret will be that I put more money into the author’s purse.  For some reason women all over the world have been flocking to read this.  I have no idea why.   If I ever find myself thinking that is what life is about, I’ll hope for an early death.

Can anyone tell me what is so good about this Trilogy?  Am I alone in my apparent naivety?  Is there not more to being a woman than this?

Now I’ll get back to something that is worth reading…

Meanwhile this sums it up:

“While Twilight is flawed in its writing style, at least the story line paints a picture of loving and committed relationships – something that is completely butchered in 50 Shades of Grey.”

 – Book review from Escape into Life.com

38 thoughts on “I Don’t Do Grey, Not Even Fifty Shades

  1. Amen! At last! Don’t even get me started on my rants about this topic. I can go for hours on what’s wrong with a society that rarely reads, and yet buys into this garbage as if it came with a free winning lottery ticket. Thank you for writing this, Cate. x

  2. I am so glad that I’m not just some odd mutation. I have had no desire to read this book, and I cannot stand how it is so popular. It’s nice to know that there are others who feel this same way. I’ve heard what it’s about, and do not like that it’s a “must read”. For me, “must read” is purely subjective anyway, but it’s so disheartening to see our society flock to this sort of book. Meanwhile, many history books gather dust on the shelves. I’m not a history buff, but I find it sad that sustenance is being pushed to the back, while this drivel sits on the front lines.

    Great post! Thanks for sharing this, Cate!

  3. I have found the impulse to comment on anything to do with the 50 Shades trilogy impossible to ignore. I do hope you’ll forgive me. I can’t help myself. I read them. All three of them. Because I am obsessive. I initially bought the first one to see what the hype was about. I read it. It. Was. Awful. I can always find something to appreciate, even when I’m reading something really bad, but there is nothing good I can say about the book. The characters are shallow. The story is demented. The writing is horrible. I found and downloaded a pdf copy of the last two. It took me 3 weeks to get through the second installment (not without pain I tell you). The third took me over a month because I couldn’t stand to read more than a few pages at a time, my compulsion to know how it ended got the better of me.
    I can usually finish a really good book in one sitting. I have never found it so hard to read anything in my life, and I was a Literature and Lit. Theory student. There is nothing, dear NZ Cate, “good” about this book.

    1. There is absolutely no need for forgiveness. I just admire your stickability and perserverence. I felt physically sick at 100 pages and couldn’t put myself through anymore so I’m impressed that you stuck with it. But what a waste of time. You’re right there is nothing good about it. Thanks. 🙂

  4. Juliana Rego

    Thank you for writing this, Cate! I’ve been wondering what the hype was all about, and thought “Maybe I should buy this book and read it?”, just so I can understand what people love so much about this book. But I’m so glad that I came across your post before I spent all those precious pennies on a not-worth-it-at-all book.
    I also agree with Kate that we live in a ‘sexually dysfunctional society’!

    1. My advice? Don’t waste your money. If you’re anywhere near me you can have my copy, I don’t plan to go back to it. And you’re right it is a sexually dysfunctional society and that is very sad. Thanks for your comments. 🙂

  5. Cate, great post! I have no desire to buy or even borrow these books. I do not understand the frenzy over Fifty Shades of Grey. I don’t think I would be able to read the first chapter.
    Katherine

  6. As a writer I am keenly interested in what appeals to people in terms of literature and I remember something a wise friend once told me which is that you can sommetimes tell a lot about a person by what books are on their bookshelves.

    Sadly I had to respond, “and you think most people have bookshelves nowadays?”

    I hope that I am by no means a cynic or a snob when it comes to these things. But I do think that it is true and you can often tell the literary and sometimes even moral compass of a community or country when you look at their best-sellers lists.

    Personally I have not read this book, nor am I likely too. Actually my only knowledge of it came when my son’s partner put on her facebook page that she wanted to read it and asked if anyone had a copy she could borrow. I thought, at first, that I might order a copy for her but out of curiosity I researched the book.first and subsequently decided that I didn’t want to have any part in her getting a copy 🙂

    So well done you Cate for making your feelings on the subject clear and for going against the popular flow!

    Kind Regards and God bless you.
    Kevin,

    1. Thanks Kevin. I think you are right that you can tell a lot about a person from what is on their bookshelves (if indeed they have them). I’m now face with the awful issue of I have a copy and I don’t want it on my bookshelf but then I wouldn’t offer it to anyone either. Can I bring myself to put a book in the rubbish? Not sure. Actually the whole issue just makes me very sad that society values something as trashy and perverted as this. 😦

  7. Bourbon

    Oh my I got about half way thru and just had to give up. It bored me stupid. I wrote a very unforgiving review of it on amazon!

  8. I have read the first 2 chapters. I’m not sure if I can advance beyond that. It is good to hear others who can’t read it either. The writing is horrible, and I consider myself VERY easily entertained. I am tempted to send this author a *gasp* thesaurus. I just wanted to know what all the hoo-ha was about. If I stomach a few more chapters, I’ll let you know if I figure it out.

    1. I wish you luck. I came to the conclusion it was bad for my health. And yes a thesaurus would be an excellent idea not to mention a healthy grasp on what is a healthy relationship. Thanks for your comments. 🙂

    1. That is a very wise choice. You know what I meant to add to my post and didn’t is my fear that people with BPD think this is how a relationship is. That’s really scary.

      1. Now that I think about it, those are the relationships that people with BPD dream of. The relationship that is so emotionally charged. Those have been my worst relationships.

      2. Me too, and it’s exactly why it scares me. I suddenly feel the need to save everyone with BPD from the likes of the Christian Grey’s of this world. I think though I will have to accept that I’m not superman. Damn it! 😉

  9. I think people like it because it’s a book about sex that is societally permissible to read. I read the first one. I almost quit after 20 pages because the writing was terrible, and the main character just randomly tripped in the street or something? But I finished it. And it is a terrible book. I swear the sentence structures are very similar with just a few substituted words. I did find it a little amusing, but the Christian Grey character is creepy. What I hate is that now I can never think of the phrase “shades of grey” without thinking of that book. Curses.

  10. Kat

    I downloaded it into Kindle on my iPhone and read two chapters about three weeks ago. Not enough time to read it. Id rather be reading all these great blogs! Kat

    1. That is brilliant. Thank you. You just made my morning. And now I’m thinking I perhaps need to add “oh my” into my vocabulary. Then again, perhaps not. 😀

  11. Pingback: Bipolar Traits | Is Bipolar Hereditary

I would love your feedback...

