I Got Tagged

Image credit: wikipedia.com

My good friend Kevin at Voices Of Glass tagged me a few weeks ago, and while he probably thinks I forgot, or even ignored the tag – I didn’t.  I was just otherwise occupied, another way of saying I didn’t quite get around to it.  So Kevin, if you thought I ignored you, I would never do that, not even when you tag me.

The rules are:

1. You must post the rules.
2. Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post.
3. Create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged.
4. Tag (eleven) people with a link to your post.
5. Let them know they’ve been tagged.

Kevin’s questions for me:

  1. Did you have an imaginary friend or friends as a child and if so please tell us about it.  I sort of did, but they weren’t imaginary in my mind, so I’m still inclined to deny it.  Completely 100% real.  I tend to choose not to talk about it because psychiatrists have a nasty habit of trying to deem me psychotic if I do.  I’m not.  Some things are better left unsaid.
  2. If you were granted the ability to ask one person (living or dead) whom you had never met in person – one question which they had no choice but to answer honestly who and what would you ask?  Someone I’d never met?  I’d ask Janet Frame (a famous NZ author who wrote about her experience of mental illness among many other things) how she possibly found the strength to survive the indignities of the early twentieth century mental health system that she experienced.
  3. Who was your favourite fictional character when you were growing up?  (Please give name and source) 
    Image credit: Sweden.se

    There were many but Pippi Longstocking comes first to mind.  I thought she was so cool and I hoped to grow up to be just like her.

  4. If you were given th choice of having any one super power which one would you choose, why and how would you use it?  I’d love to be able to fly, partly because I have lots of flying dreams and think it would rather handy.  I’d need to be able to fly long and fast because then I could pop over and drop in on my blogging friends for coffee, without having to worry about the cost of  plane ticket.  So keep your eyes on the sky, one day…
  5. Crunchy Peanut Butter or Smooth Peanut Butter?  Definitely crunchy and super-crunchy is even better.
  6. If you could live in any era within your own country which era would you choose and why? (Please also indicate your country)  I am in New Zealand, and I would love to have known my grandparents as young adults, and so I’m going with the 1930’s
  7. Which is more romantic in your eyes – a moonlight walk along the beach or sitting on a jetty on a lake in the moonlight?  It depends on the beach, and the lake for that matter, but I’m veering towards the beach.  I love walking on beaches so a romantic moonlit walk sounds great.  Now that I have chosen, does someone magically appear to join me?  LOL
  8. If the New York Times contacted you and offered to print ONE of your blog posts which one would you chose (please provide a link to it if you can) and why that one?  A Man Named Jason… And Why I Cried which was posted in April, 2012.  I felt very strongly about this post, but also got the impression I was a little mis-understood.  I’d like to tweak it a little to avoid something that seemed to distract from what I was trying to say about the stigma related to mental illness.  So please New York Times, I’d love you to print this, but let me have another go at it first.  Is that allowed?
  9. What types of jokes/humor offend/offends you the most and why?  My regular readers will know this.  It’s not so much that I feel offended, but I strongly object to jokes about points of difference, whether that be mental or physical illness, deformities, abilities, ethnicity, gender… are you getting the idea?  Stigma.
  10. Should psychiatrist’s consulting rooms in your opinion be formally or casually decorated?  Ie. Clinical or more inviting?  Actually I don’t really care as long as said psychiatrist has their head screwed on and they treat me with dignity, respect and care.  Surely that’s not too much to ask?  Oh, and a good coffee would only enhance the experience.
  11. Do you have a favourite painting?  If so which one and why is it your favourite?  I have a copy of this Picasso on my wall, which on more than one occasion I have been asked whether I was the artist.  It’s so simple and I love it.
Image via polyvore.com

And now it’s time for my questions for those I will tag below.  I’m cheating a bit, because I like some of Kevin’s questions, so I’ve simply added a few, subtracted a few…

  1. If you could choose anyone in the world (alive or dead… although they will be alive for this :-)) to be your new next door neighbour, who would you pick?
  2. If the New York Times contacted you and offered to print ONE of your blog posts which one would you choose (please provide a link to it if you can) and why that one?
  3. What do you make of karma?  Do you believe in it, or rely on it?
  4. Did you have an imaginary friend or friends as a child and if so please tell us about it.
  5. What is your favourite dessert?
  6. What is one thing you would like to achieve, or see, before you die?
  7. Which country/ies is on your ‘must do sometime’ list?
  8. What is your favourite music of all time, and why?
  9. Ocean or mountains?  Which would you prefer to be near?
  10. If you could live in any era within your own country which era would you choose and why? (Please also indicate your country)

And if your name is here, you’ve been tagged…

Actually I’m going to cheat again and open it up to everyone.  Do you want to be tagged?  Then consider yourself tagged by me, and have fun.  If you’re not interested in being tagged, consider yourself let off the hook by me. 🙂

7 thoughts on “I Got Tagged

  1. Pippi! 🙂 I loved Pippi Longstocking as a kid and still do. I have a couple books and the collection of the Swedish movies (TV series combined into movie format). As a kid I would often relive the movies in my make-believe and have my own Pippi adventures with Tommy and Anika. I loved reading your answers, and also strongly agree with the one about jokes surrounding stigma. I can’t stand those kinds.

I would love your feedback...

