Award For… A Blog Heading For The Big Time (Hopefully!)

I am running a little behind in acknowledging Awards.  So here I go.  BPShielsey of The Bipolar Place very kindly nominated me for the Liebster Award.

I am embarassed to admit he did this several weeks ago, and by now he has probably forgotten.  But not me, firstly because I always love getting Awards.  It just takes me a while sometimes to get my act together.  But what really caught my eye is that this Award comes for the small fry amongst us.

“This award is given to blogs with less than 200 followers, as a way to
encourage them, as well as spread love around the community. It also shares
appreciation for fellow bloggers and the wonderful work they do.”

I love that.  When BPShielsey posted about getting the Award himself I loved that the post was entitled Awards For An Unloved Blog 😦  I have to admit that I have a fairly vivid imagination, along with a bad (according to psychiatrists) habit of animating the inanimate.  So I had this lovely image in my head of this poor little cartoon-like blog sitting in a corner with no friends (but one Liebster Award), and my heart strings have been suitably pulled to encourage you to rush over to his blog now and make friends… and let him feel that blogging community love.   Not simply because this image in my head is starting to bug me, but more importantly because his is a great blog and I particularly love the music.

But I do need to be entirely honest.  In terms of WordPress followers I have under 200, but my Facebook followers take me over the magic figure.  So do I have to give this back???  Please say no, because I love it.  And anyway right now it is so difficult to get any regular information from Pages on Facebook, that most of my followers there are not getting my posts anyway.  AHHHH!

Down to business.   The rules of this award are to thank the person who nominates you (check); link back to them (check); copy and paste the award logo (check); give 10 random facts about myself; and nominate other bloggers whom I would like to pass this award onto.

My 11 Random Facts:

1.  My favourite (really) soppy movie is When I Man Loves A Woman.  Ok, no more groans thank you.

2. The next movie I am heading to see is Ted.  Can’t wait, but it doesn’t start here until 11 July.

3. My favourite author is Janet Frame.  I especially recommend her three part auto-biography ‘An Autobiography’.

The Yogi Bear Show
The Yogi Bear Show (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4. Winnie the Pooh or Paddington Bear?  This is a hard one, but Paddington beats Pooh by a slick of honey, or was that marmalade?  I’m also quite partial to Yogi Bear (the original).

5. I hate getting my hair cut.  I have to sit looking at myself in the mirror while some stranger asks me dumb questions about my children, my husband… and oh yes, my job.  All those things that I don’t have and survive quite okay without.  But the hairdresser treats me like I’m totally weird.  Oh that’s right, I am.

6. I once considered becoming a funeral director.  I could do without embalming of bodies but I like the idea of helping people say good bye to their loved ones.  I decided in the end that I would be playing with fate too much (with depression), and I really needed a more uplifting job.

7. My latest statement about myself (especially for the hairdresser above) is “I’m weird, but I’m saving up to become eccentric”.  I’d love to be an eccentric old lady (although not too soon!).

8. I hate gardening, but appreciate looking at gardens.  Just don’t want to have to do the work.

9. I love tiramisu.

10. The best meal I ever ate was seafood lasagna in Venice (a long time ago).  I guess the surroundings and the company helped, but the food and wine were delicious.

11. When I have spare time (which isn’t often) I like doing patchwork and quilting (by hand).  None of this using a sewing machine!  It’s been a while since I did any.

And now drum roll please… for nominations:

Daily Life With Fibromyalgia

…But She’s Crazy

Resonate Freedom

Pride in Madness

Out of the Lens Photography

*

“Never despise small beginnings, and don’t belittle your own accomplishments. Remember them and use them as inspiration as you go on to the next thing. When you venture outside your comfort zone, wherever the starting point may be, it’s kind of a big deal.” 

 ―    Chris Guillebeau 

12 thoughts on “Award For… A Blog Heading For The Big Time (Hopefully!)

  1. The small talk with the hairdresser is also awkward for me. We usually lapse into silence because I don’t have much to say. But it’s awkward like that . . . at least at the dentist I have the not-talking excuse that there’s stuff in my mouth, lol.

  2. “I’m weird, but I’m saving up to become eccentric”. I love this! 🙂

    The awkwardness at the hairdresser is one that I can relate to like you and Angel. I haven’t been to a salon in almost 4 years now, but when I would go oh man did I hate it. I never know what to say for the life questions ’cause my life wasn’t where I wanted it to be. It still isn’t, so not going to the hairdresser now is not a bad thing for me.

    Also… Yogi Bear rocks! That’s so cool that you like him too. My favorite Christmas movie is a hard one to pick, but Yogi’s First Christmas has to be the one that takes the top spot for me. I watched that since I was little and last year found it on DVD now too (amazon has it) and I was so happy! Yogi Bear and Boo Boo… the best cartoon duo. 🙂 Oh and let’s not forget the “pick-i-nick basket” (always love how Yogi says “picnic”).

  3. Pingback: My Kiwi Liebster! « Reson8 Freedom

    1. Thank you so much Dorothy. I really appreciate this from you and also appreciate being poointed in the right direction of this blog. I like it a lot. Thanks 😛

  4. Congrats, Cate!!! I am always so impressed with how you manage to fins the motivation to write and share! I have so many ideas (and two to three line drafts ideas) running through my head but so rarely find the ability to start and FINISH!

    You really do so much to help so many!!!

    1. Thanks RHC. I appreciate that. I think the difference between you and me in terms of finding time is probably that I don’t have to clean up after a husband, etc LOL. I can do what I want. But you should find that motivation because I love your posts. You have a lot of good stuff and a great heart to share 😎

I would love your feedback...

