Music Therapy

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Everybody has that point in their life where you hit a crossroads
and you’ve had a bunch
  of bad days and there’s different ways
you can deal with it and the way I dealt with it was

I just turned completely to music.” 

―    Taylor Swift

Sometimes there just aren’t any words.  It’s not writer’s block and I’m not sure if it is actually allowed in the world of blogging but I’m guessing if bloggers can just blog pictures, then this isn’t much different.  There is simply so much going on in my head that I don’t have a point at which I can start.  It’s either all going to come out as one big splurt.  Or there is nothing.

I can tell you that life is hard right now and it hasn’t been this hard for a while.  Too many bad memories and hurts have risen to the surface.  I didn’t expect it.  I just don’t know what to do or what to say.  So I remember that I always found Music Therapy useful.  Music, regardless of the presence of lyrics, always seems to be able to say it for me. 

So this song is another Kiwi tune by The Feelers.  It’s not the best recording (but the best I could find) but it is the live performance from Christchurch shortly after our first and largest earthquake.  So it means something to me.

I’m not sure if I’m trying to talk myself into this, or what.  That’s when I think of the lyrics, which I’ve printed below.  But I love the music too and it made me feel a little bit better today.  So that has to be a plus.

Lyrics to Stand Up:

It’s time to open up the memories of your past
And its time to move on
It’s time to open up the shadows of your heart
And it’s time to move on
Cause it’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted on
Cause it’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted on
It’s time to open up and shed a little light
On your soul
Cause the box you put your heartache in got
Lost or swept out to sea
Now it’s time just to move on
And it’s a long long road to carry on I’ve got to
Stand up and be counted on,
It’s a long long Road and I’ve got to be strong. (x 2)
Yea it’s a long long road to carry on I’ve got to
Stand up and be counted on.
It’s a long long Road and I’ve got to be strong. (x 2)

[Lyrics on http://www.lyricsmania.com/ ]

“Those who dance are considered insane by those who cannot hear the music.” 

―    George Carlin

One thought on “Music Therapy

I would love your feedback...

