I Love This!

I feel as if someone just came to my door with an enormous bunch of gorgeous, funky flowers; but instead I checked my WordPress messages and nearly had tears in my eyes by the time I finished.  So I think this is like getting cyber flowers, and I tell you it’s a long time since anyone gave me cyber, or real, flowers, so I am completely blown away.  I have just been nominated for my third award this week.  Wow!

Silverfox of C’est la Vie has generously nominated me for Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award.  I love it!

I was really moved by what Silverfox said on her blog about me and my blog, so I hope she doesn’t mind if I share this with you.

“I will never forget the first time I read NZ Cate’s blog, Infinite Sadness…or what?  I cannot believe the trials and tribulations this lady had to endure in her life!  I admire the way she patiently explains her life to her readers and in every post, you can feel a wave of sadness, hope and passion.  She isn’t the kind of person to whine and complain about her life.  Her sole mission is to educate people about mental illnesses and to remove the stigma from these disorders.  This is no easy task for anyone but do you think that will stop NZ Cate?  No!  She is very determined to accomplish this goal and longs for the public to understand mental disorders and hopefully accept it.  Her blog serves to educate everyone about the truth and the myths behind mental illnesses.  NZ Cate hopes that, by highlighting her personal experiences through her blog, this in turn will evoke the public’s sense of compassion, love and respect for those who are plagued with mental disorders.  NZ Cate, I told you this the very first time I read your blog and I will say it again: you are a very courageous lady!  I admire what you are doing and I salute you! “

Do you see why I was nearly in tears?  She has summed up my purpose in blogging so well and I love how she has highlighted my desire (along with many others) to see the removal of the stigma associated with mental illness.  It’s not just me that is working to see this happen either.  One day it will happen.

It’s a good opportunity to note an accomplishment of one of New Zealand’s great rugby players, John Kirwan.  As a former All Black, New Zealand’s national rugby team, he was awarded yesterday with a knighthood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.  His award wasn’t for rugby but rather for his work in mental health issues, which has included a book about his own experience, but perhaps more importantly an advertising campaign to reduce the stigma of mental illness and increase the awareness of depression.  He said:

“My philosophy all the way through about mental health is that if I can help one person, it will be great.

“If you ask me what is depression, it is the best and worst thing to ever happen to me. But my whole journey has been positive.

“There were scary times because of the stigma attached to depression, but I have tried to break those down because it is an illness, not a weakness.”  (1.)

I guess I see what we bloggers do, goes side by side with more public work by a celebrity like him.  It all adds to the goal of making mental illness acceptable.

In case you were wondering apparently this award I received has no rules.  I like awards like that.  I’m going to hold back on nominating anyone too.  I have a blog in mind but it is someone who has been taking a break and I think it’s appropriate to wait for a bit.  But watch this space.  I will be nominating someone soon.

So thanks again to Silverfox for the nomination but also for your very generous words.  Check out her blog.  It’s great.  It’s not about mental or physical illness, but it is about life.  I love reading it because it is like stepping outside for a breath of fresh air.  That always helps me to sit back down and get back to the task at hand.

3 thoughts on “I Love This!

  1. NZ Cate, your blog opened my eyes to so many things that I never knew existed. I thank you for educating me about mental illnesses and all I can say is, keep up the good work! Great post and I love your analogy of the cyberflowers! Congrats again!

I would love your feedback...

