Appreciate and Appreciated

Wow!  Getting validation makes all the difference.  Getting feedback is one of the highlights of my day and positive feedback is always the best feeling.

Silverfox of C’est la Vie has kindly nominated me for a Reader Appreciation Award.  And it’s just what I needed, so thank you.  It’s always nice to know that what you do is appreciated.

Yes, there are rules to this Award, and they are:

  • List something you’ve been up to lately.
  • Nominate 6 other blogs.

I haven’t been up to anything that exciting unfortunately but have been doing paper work.  Insurance claims for my home and my mother (following the Earthquakes) are forever taking time and effort, and unfortunately there’s not much showing for that yet.  Watch this space.  I’ve had applications to fill in for changes to my benefit.  It’s all just paperwork and won’t produce any change in dollars in the bank (and that’s what matters).  And then I have been trying to find ways to get through the winter with a house that just seeps warm air outside (through the cracks).  Last winter my power bills basically doubled so I’m expecting the same this year.  But good news.  Today I heard from Red Cross that they will give me a grant to help cover this.  I didn’t think I would qualify but they have decided I do and I’m over the moon.  It’s such a huge weight of my shoulders of how I was going to pay the bills.  So to anyone who donated to the Christchurch Earthquake Appeals, the money really does get through and I say an enormous…

The last thing I need to do is to nominate six blogs for the Reader Appreciation Award, and they are (in no particular order)…
Heather at Find Focus
Summer Moon  My Bipolar Bubble
Sujana at Searching Eyes
So ladies and gentleman, I congratulate you all on your blogs.  I love them and always get challenged somehow by what you post.  You make me think, and I’m sure that is what blogs are for.  Thank you.
And once again, thanks to Silvermoon for nominating me.  You made my day!
15 thoughts on “Appreciate and Appreciated

  1. Congratulations times two, Cate! First on this awesome award which you deserve! And again on getting that Red Cross grant. That is such a good thing! Thank you so much for nominating me for the award too. That means a lot and it feels really good to receive it. I greatly appreciate it! 🙂

  2. nikkix2

    Congratulations on the award!!! And, it’s nice to know that the money we donate actually gets to the people that truly need it. Actually, the Red Cross is one of the charities that I really believe in 🙂

  3. Pingback: Commercial Break For Some Appreciation: The Reader Appreciation Award « candidaabrahamson

    1. Thanks Silverfox. I have to say I feel terrible that I accidentally called you Silvermoon when I first posted. I realised and fixed it but I’m guessing not before you saw it. I am SO sorry. One of those days, is the only excuse. 😦

  4. Congrats on such a lovely honor and great recognition – you deserve it! 🙂 I’d also like to thank you for your nomination of my blog for this award! Not meaning to be ungrateful I have still neglected to thank you or take up the challenge of the award, but I hope you know it hasn’t been on purpose or personal. 🙂 It’s been a bit of a rough month and I haven’t even posted anything on my blog in weeks… I hope to remedy that very soon and will certainly take you up on this award and challenge to nominate more great blogs to receive this honor. Thanks again, Cate!! 🙂

    1. You’re very welcome but please don’t feel bad about not getting to it. I’m sorry you’ve had such a rough time and actually I had noticed I hadn’t seen anything (but don’t use that to beat yourself up). Sometimes it’s more important to focus on what’s right in front of us and I do hope things get better for you soon.

  5. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital)

    Well done on the blog awards. Looks like you deserve it. Thanks for dropping by my blog – I’m glad to have come across yours too.

    All the best.

I would love your feedback...

