Playing Tag

Image from allaboutlemon.com

I used to hate playing tag as a child.  Running madly around the school playing fields was not my idea of fun because I wasn’t one of the sporty kids and I would be tagged early on.  What’s more, it didn’t seem fair to me that the same kids always won.  So while I know playing blog tagging is different, my first thoughts when Kevin from Voices of Glass tagged me, was of a groan of here I go again (instead of the cartoon’s Whoaa!).  Not completely rational but just a reminder of the sometime unfairness of youth.

That said, I am here.  The rules of tag are:

  • Post the rules that are a part of this game.
  • Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post, and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged.
  • Tag eleven people and link to them on your post.
  • Let them know you’ve tagged them! (but of course).

Firstly I am not going to tag anyone at the end.  Yes I am breaking the rules but I still want people to like me (just can’t get away from that need sometimes) and if I keep making awards or tagging, I will soon have the thought that people are sick of me.  So apologies if you unlike me and just desperately want to be tagged.  I am sure someone else will be along shortly to tag you.

Okay, so Kevin’s questions follow:

1.  What is your favorite mini-series?

It’s an old, soppy Australian one for me.  The Thorn Birds.  There’s nothing wrong with an old romance once in a while (just don’t give me too many).

2.  What song is currently stuck in your head?

I hope you Dance‘ by Lee Ann Womack

3.  Who’s one guy and one girl you have a crush on? You must choose one of each.

Okay now this is getting the brain cells pumping.  I’m sure I’m too old for this but I’m going for a younger than present Robert Redford and Catherine Zeta Jones.  So many choices, so hard to choose.

4.   If you got to choose any occupation you wanted and money wasn’t an issue, what would you choose and why?

I’d be a cross between an aid worker and a print journalist.  Why?  Because every day would be different and I would feel like I was making a difference (see below).

5.  When you’re using numbers to make a list, do you put periods, parentheses, or something else (if so, what), after the numbers? Why do you think you have this preference?

Can’t you tell?  I use periods! Period.

6.  What sorts of books do you like to read, and why?

Like my choice of music it’s varied and it’s easier to say what I don’t like.  I can’t stand Fantasy and Science Fiction.  I just simply don’t get what the point of them is.

7.  You’re driving for at least four hours by yourself. You don’t have a CD player, and you can’t hook up your mp3 player or smart phone to your stereo. How do you occupy yourself?

This is easy but it comes with a warning that you might decide (if you haven’t already) that I am completely bonkers.  It’s okay.  I am.  Anyway back to the question.  If I was driving anywhere for four hours I would have my favourite teddy bear (Ted) with me in the passenger seat and he and I would be holding a very animated conversation for at least the length of the trip.  Who needs music?  PS.  This picture is not Ted.

8.  Do you believe in anything supernatural? If so, what?

Yes.  Where do I start?  I believe in God, as in the God that Christians believe in but I believe in other stuff too.  I believe that everyone has their own beliefs about this stuff and that’s okay with me.  I believe in spirits, but admit I don’t understand them.  I have just seen enough and heard enough to believe that they are real and powerful.  I’d like to understand more but I admit I’m a little scared to go there.

 

9.   Why do you visit Kevin’s blogs?

Because I like them.  I learn and I’m entertained.  I guess that’s what I expect from a blog.

 

10.   If you have a smartphone, which 5 apps do you use the most? If you don’t have a smartphone, why not?

I do have a smartphone but regard myself as somewhat of a beginner.  My nephews (aged 14 and 12) had to teach me how to use it and just hoped I would get so frustrated and donate it to one of them.  It didn’t happen and I’d point out that they didn’t own phones but still knew how to use mine.  Huh!  As for Apps, now I’m struggling.  WordPress is there and a NZ (news) site Stuff.  Apart from that I have no idea.  Actually I’m still quite tempted to trade the phone with my 16 month old niece.  She’s got a lovely, bright coloured one that makes all sorts of exciting noises – and is SO much easier to use.  It might not fit in my pocket but it would be cheaper.

 

11.   What is the most important principle for you to live your life by, and why?

Image source unknown

I don’t have just one principle that I live by but a collection around empathy, tolerance and not judging another.  Also, making a difference is important to me (no matter how small or large that might be).  This story sums it up for me:

“An old man walking along a beach at dawn noticed a young man ahead of him picking up starfish and flinging them into the sea. Catching up with the youth he asked what he was doing. “The starfish will die if they are still on the beach when …the sun roasts them with its mid-morning heat,” came the answer. “But the beach goes on for miles, and there are millions of starfish,” countered the old man. “How can your effort make any difference?” The young man looked at the starfish in his hand and threw it safely in the waves. “It makes a difference to this one,” he said. “
                                           – Unknown
I would love your feedback...

