THis makes so much sense. I couldn’t say it better. Thanks Steph.

Stephintoronto's Rants and Raves

I have written in the past about friendships and the work that I have been, or need to do on the friendships that I have or had.  As I have been looking at my own life, I realize that I am desperately lonely and I am not the only one.  Many of the people that I interact with who are mentally ill or dealing with mental health  issues are also lonely, both for friendships and intimate relationships.  I’ve been thinking a lot about the reasons that all of these wonderful people are not surrounded by caring and fabulous friends and partners and I realize that many times we do it to ourselves.  3 of a number of theories that I have:

  • The search for solitude – The vicious circle of mental illness and loneliness begins with the desire to be alone and alienate oneself from everyone else.  To be alone. To not burden family or…

View original post 621 more words

I would love your feedback...

