Hello world! This is my turn…

Cover of Infinite Sadness, 2009Infinite Sadness… or what?

2009 saw me launch into the world of publishing.  I had written a book ‘Infinite Sadness’ and when repeated publishing companies told me to was too much and they couldn’t “inflict my story on readers”,  I decided to put it out there anyway by self-publishing.  That got my message out to a small audience but it wasn’t enough for me.  I needed people to read what I admit was a hard, uncomfortable read.  Next, was to place it on Scribd.com  – you’ll find it at: http://www.scribd.com/doc/76872108/Infinite-Sadness

This book was never about making money but rather about getting a message across to as many as I could about what it is like to experience a major mental illness.  A way to understand how it might be for you, or a family member or friend.  Even for mental health professionals there would be something to learn about how things come across to their patients.

A few years on and I like that my message is reaching more people.  A friend asked whether there was going to be a sequel because a lot has happened since then and I have changed.  ‘Infinite Sadness… or what?’ is my version of an ongoing sequel.  Infinite Sadness… or what? because Infinite Sadness isn’t really appropriate anymore.  And anyway, a band came along and stole my title to name themselves…  so they can have it.  Infinite Sadness is not enough anymore.  I’m not prepared to accept that for my life.  I was so glad to just accept something good after so long but it’s not enough.  I’m not quite sure what I’m moving to but we will find out together.  Join me on my journey.

Many people suffer from mental illness sometimes in their lives.  Some don’t make it, some do, but few have the opportunity to tell the world about it.  It’s a shame because we all need to have an understanding of what can affect anyone.  This blog is not going to be solely about mental illness but I will unashamedly discuss the issue in an attempt to reduce the stigmas involved for sufferers.  It is part of my life and I am not going to hide that way.  But there will be other stuff too… whatever comes to mind.  If you have ideas about what you’d like to see here, please let me know.  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Just so you know I am a forty-something woman from Christchurch, New Zealand.  Yes we are the one’s that have had over 10,000 earthquakes in 16 months.  It’s been quite a journey.  Somehow inspite of a whole lot of stress, loss and heartache I have survived.  My mental health has survived too and in future times I will talk about how I think that happened.  I hope you join my journey.

6 thoughts on “Hello world! This is my turn…

  1. Elizabeth Radford Ruggiero

    I didn’t know about the book! I do so much want to read it…people tell me I should write a book about my traumatic past but that’s probably the same traumatic past that about half American children have, so I’ll not 🙂

    I’m following your blog!

    I think I just secretly love the fact that I can now say I have a friend in NEW ZEALAND!!! Just kiddin’.

  2. Pingback: Lessons For Cate So Far… | Infinite Sadness… or what?

  3. Pingback: Lessons For Cate So Far… | Infinite Sadness… or hope?

I would love your feedback...

